Sunday, November 25, 2012

Stationery card

O Joyous Lord Religious Christmas Card
Make unique Christmas cards this year at Shutterfly.com.
View the entire collection of cards.

Friday, November 9, 2012

Thoughts on breastfeeding...

so, it was my son's 3rd birthday a few weeks ago (yes, i am so, so, SO behind!). i originally wanted to have an entirely paleo menu. i admit it was mostly selfish so that i would stay on track but i also wanted just a *bit* to try and impress guests and be able to say things like, "why, yes, that cake IS wheat and grain free...it's sugar-free too!" but, the latter is just silly and not very important, so my husband suggest we take a different approach. with having a baby who still is working on getting a proper sleep schedule, which makes a mother who doesn't get very much sleep, he suggested that we keep things simple. as in, let's just invite costco to cater the party. it certainly WAS easy, but i fear we, and especially my daughter, paid the price.

in leading up to a party there is ALWAYS cleaning and i ALWAYS put pressure on myself to get a few house projects completed before these parties. this time was no different except that i have a demanding new baby and a toddle at home. and oh yeah, my husband had a work golf tournament the day of my son's party, so he was of no help. so, my parents kindly volunteered their service to help me get ready. with all the "getting ready" i didn't plan on what i would actually make for dinner that was paleo the night before the party. enter costco pizza. i felt terrible afterward but i moved on. the day of the party my parents were helping again and we didn't plan a paleo lunch. enter taco bell. i had one of their new salads but there was rice in it (not paleo) and some other things that i can't remember right now that aren't paleo friendly. the salad tastes really, really good. however, afterward, i felt absolutely terrible again. by terrible, i mean sleepy and bloated and overall a feeling of unwellness. the party food was VERY un-paleo. we had a fruit and veggie tray (very paleo), but our main dish was costco pizza and our dessert was betty crocker cupcakes and breyer's ice cream. let's just saw that going to bed that night i didn't feel very well again and i got HORRIBLE sleep (even worse than my "normal" interrupted-by-my-infant sleep). did i mention there was also candy at the party? reese's pieces.

on monday my daughter was "off." she was back to her old ways of crying every.single.time. she tried to go to sleep. she was extra difficult to get to sleep and she was spitting up SOOOO MUCH. she also had much more gas than normal. she was spitting up so much that i wasn't sure she had much left in her tummy after a feeding. this went on a full day and then my husband remarked that perhaps it was related to what i had eaten. a light bulb went off in my head...that was TOTALLY possible. i am not claiming that all of the occurrences are absolutely related, but the hubs and i had noticed that after a week or so on paleo that the baby was getting easier to get to sleep.

it took the baby about 2-3 days to stop the constant spitting up and to be able to get to sleep easier. doctors and books will say that it takes about 6 or so hours from the time a mother consumes something for her to get into the breastmilk, so this timeline would make sense since i ate non-paleo for about 2 days and it took her 2-3 days to come out of it.

i also was very, very naughty and had some halloween candy. it tastes good going in, but i now notice how awful the aftertaste of candy really is. not even worth it. so, the only paleo-approved chocolate (it's not technically true paleo, but it's an indulgence that won't get someone completely off-track) that i will eat if at least 70% cacoa. i found some bars at trader Joe's and there not that bad. they're pretty good actually.

bottom line: if my food intake was at all related to my daughter's behavior then going non-paleo is not even worth it. i am finding sometimes it's not 100% possible to be paleo (and i am lucky i don't have to go paleo due to food allergies), but i need to try my absolute hardest to stick with things. if not for me, then for my daughter.

Saturday, October 20, 2012

Is puberty finally on its way out???

so, i have almost completed my 3rd full week of being Paleo and the most notable thing lately is my complexion. anyone who knows me knows that i get breakouts all.the.time. and i am 30. so sad, but i figured it was just one of my crosses to bear. perhaps a way to keep me humble. i have been to the dermatologist multiple times (and multiple dermatologists, at that!) and have tried creams, pills, the works! i always hated that i was putting chemicals on my skin or into my stomach to try to fix the problem. however, those treatments did work, but there were annoying side effects AND they were only temporary solutions.

last week my husband commented that my complexion looked really good. it was nice that he said this because i was noticing that my face was clearing up too! back when i had my first child, it took about 5 months before my "normal" skin returned and i started breaking out again (sidenote: my face has been it's best in pregnancy after the first trimester). this time it only took about 6 weeks before my "normal" skin came back. sigh.

that being said, last weekend we headed to oktoberfest. we ate dinner at oktoberfest. i decided to enjoy the food. i even ordered dessert (gasp!). and you know what? the dessert didn't even taste all that good. it was as if there was just too much sugar! and my dinner was good, but there was something that had wheat in it - i just can't remember! well, the next day i woke up and had zits! THREE of them! i am wondering if it's a coincidence with what i ate. i have heard that some people do have better skin when changing their diet to paleo. if it's true for me it certainly does make complete sense. what happens when smokers quit smoking? their lungs can become healthier and re-gain their normal pink hue. well, our skin is the largest organ of our bodies, so what happens when we put only the healthiest foods into our bodies? perhaps a better complexion.

i haven't noticed any significant weight loss, but i am smaller than i was october 1st. my husband says he thinks my arms are smaller (which is another nice thing to hear).

my daughter still doesn't sleep well at all, so my workout schedule is lacking consistency. i have found an at-home program that i will implement come monday. hopefully that will help me out some and i can start to see more physical results

we are having some trouble getting my son "on board." if he sees vegetables, then he will spit them out or lock his jaw so we can't get them in there. so, we have found that if we chop them up really tiny then he won't notice them. sometimes we forget to do this and we pay the consequences. i know it won't be like forever and someday it will become "the norm" for him and he won't even notice the veggies. i did find a great paleo banana bread recipe and he likes those a lot.

i do think that i have more energy and stamina eating this way that my old diet. i DEFINITELY can attest that i don't get as hungry as i used to eating the old way. sometimes i don't even feel the need to eat lunch and sometimes i am eating it only because it's "that time of day" and i somehow think i am supposed to be eating. i have resolved to try to only eat when i am hungry and add in one small snack even when i'm not hungry just to keep my food intake up a bit to help with breastfeeding.

i don't think i will get on a scale until at least november 1st. i am rather looking forward to that.

Monday, October 8, 2012

I am in a cult

so, i survived the first week of this new paleo lifestyle. i have noticed a few things this past week...

so, i had a baby 3 months ago and put on a bit (plus a little bit more) of weight. anyone who has had a baby or has closely examined the body of a woman who has had a baby knows that once the baby comes out it takes a loooooooooooooong time to get your waist back. this happened when i had wyatt and it has happened again. a lot of women i know can slip back into their pre-pregnancy jeans by around 6 weeks to 2 months. i don't know if i just know some incredibly lucky women or that is the norm, but i am NOT one of them. i had 2 c-sections and am probably overly cautious about irritating my incision site, so i am totally in favor of pants that lack a permanently-set waistband. a few weeks ago i was ready to get some new transitional pants but didn't want to spend a lot of money. enter old navy. they were having their jeans on sale for $19. that is a pretty sweet deal on pants. but since i don't have a lot of time to go shop and try on thousands of pairs of pants to see what size i am, i was in favor for online shopping. so, i knew what size i was pre-baby. and i know i am a lot bigger now, so i just took a fancy guess. i bought a bunch of pants in two different sizes hoping that one size would fit. well, they arrived last weekend and i was eager to pack away my maternity jeans and wear "normal people" clothes. i was soooooooooooo disappointed when NEITHER of the sizes fit. it's great when you can get the pants over your (now larger) thighs, but when your waist is probably 1.5 times the size of the waist of the pants, one tends to get a little deflated, ya know? so, that left me still clinging to my maternity jeans...womp womp. i tried those jeans on the day i started this blog - october 1.

as i went through the week i noticed that, while it was tempting to eat sugar (really tempting!), i was able to press on and fight the urge. i contined to do my own research on this lifestyle on learned that i had made a few mistakes and eaten things that aren't "truly paleo." for example, bananas. while they are fine, they are to be enjoyed in moderation and not as a staple. i ate these the first couple days and probably should have eaten less. also, i enjoyed hummus the first couple days a few times too many. hummus is made from chickpeas and is a no-no. i am not sure if i am going to cut hummus out or not. it will probably depend on how i feel in the next week or so. i also had a hard time coming up with a coffee creamer that was paleo friendly. i made one on the first day of this adventure. while it tasted really good on its own, it was pretty "meh" in the coffee and i liked it less and less as the week went on. i cheated one day and used my old coffee creamer - the "natural bliss" stuff.

i also noticed that my head seemed clearer. this is really difficult to explain, but i noticed that after i was hungry and i ate something (particularly something with fat in it) that i was able to process everything in a clearer manner. my husband and i used to refer to something as a protein headache. when we didn't eat enough meat back in the day, we would get headaches. once we ate meat and gave it a little time to settle, our headaches were gone and things became less "fuzzy." what i am describing was similar to our post-protein headache feeling, but times 100.

on the end of day 2 i started noticing my body looking different. my stomach seemed less puffy. my best guess is that any bloating i had was drastically decreased. my husband noticed the difference too.

i did terrible this week with my exercising goals. i think i worked out twice? maybe? my daughter continues to go to sleep around 2 am and my son gets up between 6 and 7. it was a choice i had to make between sleep and exercising. i didn't want to deplete my body too much, so sleep won this week. i don't like that i had to do that, but something has gotta give. this is really hard for me because i love exercise - especially running. it's supposed to be cooler this week, so hopefully i can take the kidlets out for a job everyday.

ok...enough of that...remember when i said that the pants i ordered from old navy didn't fit when i tried them on october 1st? well, just to see what was up with my body changing, i tried the larger size on friday morning before i headed to work. and GUESS WHAT???? i could button those dang things up! what the?!?!?! it wasn't pretty and i had a little muffin top going on, BUT i totally didn't force them buttoned. i haven't gotten on a scale so i will be interested to see if i weigh about the same or if things are just shifting around! ah-mazing!

also, thanks to the few people who have read this thing and offered words of encouragement! my hubs is so intrigued by the small changes he's seen and the food i've been eating that we have all decided to go paleo for at least a month!

so, i can honestly say that i am in deeper and more excited about this than i was last week. i have joined the paleo cult and am on my way to converting my family!

until next time...

Tuesday, October 2, 2012

One day down...

i was pleased at how easy it was to stick with the plan yesterday. i was worried that i would feel hungry throughout the day and not be able to give my all during my workout. however, it turned out that i felt full and satisfied on what i ate yesterday AND i was able to workout pretty hard (even though i had to start my workout really late - 10 pm!). i really wondered if it was just me WANTING to feel that way or if i was, in fact, satisfied. i am not an optimist or someone who is overly hopeful that something will work. i wouldn't call myself a pessimist either...i would say i am more of a realist (which some say is really just a pessimist, right?). i am more a let's-wait-and-see-type. so, i really think i did notice a difference yesterday is the sustained-energy department.

today, however, has been a little different.

my ever-so-lovely daughter seems to wake up for about 2-3 hours every night around midnight as of late. last night was no different. i figured this would be no big deal, but my son was set to be home with me today too rather than at preschool. well, he decided he wanted to get up at 6:30 this morn (he usually is a late sleeper - 8:30! i have been very spoiled by this!). i didn't get to sleep until after 2 early this morning and i just don't do well with less than 6 hours of sleep!

BUT THEN he wanted breakfast right away and he always has oatmeal. we have always made our own and i just LOVE the way i make it...it comes out so creamy and with just a dash of brown sugar or honey. i wanted to eat it sooooo badly. i found myself rationalizing that i needed to take a bite just to test how hot it was. i surely couldn't let him burn his tongue, right? well, i put my mental muzzle over my chompers and i became incapable of tasting it. because, if i took that one little bite, then it would be a gateway for many more little bites here and there and i am serious of ridding my life of processed crap as much as i can.

i always attribute any sort of will power i am able to muster as a gift from God. a quick little prayer asking for strength is sometimes all it takes to give me the strength to power through. it may sound silly to some, but i know that all strength comes from Him. so, thank you, Lord, for that tiny victory.

i must add that this new way of eating is not about deprivation. i just want my body to be "cleaner" from the inside out and i think this is one way to do that.

on that note...i really want a cookie.

Monday, October 1, 2012

The Beginning...

so, i am starting this blog to be an accountability tool for me. i have always been horrible at journaling. i know blogs can be seen as a form of journaling, but i am choosing to see it as part of a list. i am really good at making lists and actually doing the things on the list. i can get stuff done if it's on a list. i don't really expect anyone to read this other than me (and maybe my husband and family members?), but if anyone else does decide to read this, i hope that it can help establish some sense of community between me and "them."

so, even though i know all there is to know about myself, i am going to start off at the beginning and say why it is i am starting this blog in the first place: i had my 2nd baby 3 months ago (to the day, in fact!); i have more extra weight hanging around than i ever thought i would; and i am revamping my way of eating and lifestyle.

ever since i went off to college i have tried to be super active and eat healthy. over the years what i thought was healthy eating changed somewhat as my knowledge grew. i am by no means an expert and anyone else reading this may disagree with my thoughts/methods, but i am just trying to do the best i can with what i know and without being able hire a fancy nutritionist, personal trainer, etc.

before i found out i was preggers with my 2nd baby i was probably the leanest i had been since my wedding back in 2005. also before i found out of was preg i had wanted to start eating the paleolithic way. well, that pregnancy left me so sick (i wanted to die!) the first trimester that i couldn't focus on revamping anything. i just ate whatever didn't make me want to die even more.

so, here we are 3 months after my daughter's birth and i am on day 1 of eating paleo. i don't have any books or doctors orders to guide me. i am simply going off research i have done on my own and recipes i have found on the grand ol' interwebs.

here are the things on my list for this week:
1) eat everything within paleo guidelines (at least, what i know to be paleo)
2) exercise at least 5 days this week. this consists of running at least 30 minutes each day and combine that with weight training (either the lower half or upper half of the body) and abdominal work
3)post my successes/failures/how i am feeling with my new way of eating here on this blog.

oh, i must say that i am the only one going paleo in my family. my husband is totally on board with this and we pretty much ate paleo dinners every night, but they will still be eating bread and grains as major parts of their breakfasts and lunches.

one other thing...i am breastfeeding. so if any of this "new plan" of mine interferes with my milk production for my daughter i will see it as my hand being forced to scale back and do what's best for her. from what i have read my milk will most likely not be affected...but i also live by the idea that everyone is different, so we will see.