so, i have almost completed my 3rd full week of being Paleo and the most notable thing lately is my complexion. anyone who knows me knows that i get breakouts all.the.time. and i am 30. so sad, but i figured it was just one of my crosses to bear. perhaps a way to keep me humble. i have been to the dermatologist multiple times (and multiple dermatologists, at that!) and have tried creams, pills, the works! i always hated that i was putting chemicals on my skin or into my stomach to try to fix the problem. however, those treatments did work, but there were annoying side effects AND they were only temporary solutions.
last week my husband commented that my complexion looked really good. it was nice that he said this because i was noticing that my face was clearing up too! back when i had my first child, it took about 5 months before my "normal" skin returned and i started breaking out again (sidenote: my face has been it's best in pregnancy after the first trimester). this time it only took about 6 weeks before my "normal" skin came back. sigh.
that being said, last weekend we headed to oktoberfest. we ate dinner at oktoberfest. i decided to enjoy the food. i even ordered dessert (gasp!). and you know what? the dessert didn't even taste all that good. it was as if there was just too much sugar! and my dinner was good, but there was something that had wheat in it - i just can't remember! well, the next day i woke up and had zits! THREE of them! i am wondering if it's a coincidence with what i ate. i have heard that some people do have better skin when changing their diet to paleo. if it's true for me it certainly does make complete sense. what happens when smokers quit smoking? their lungs can become healthier and re-gain their normal pink hue. well, our skin is the largest organ of our bodies, so what happens when we put only the healthiest foods into our bodies? perhaps a better complexion.
i haven't noticed any significant weight loss, but i am smaller than i was october 1st. my husband says he thinks my arms are smaller (which is another nice thing to hear).
my daughter still doesn't sleep well at all, so my workout schedule is lacking consistency. i have found an at-home program that i will implement come monday. hopefully that will help me out some and i can start to see more physical results
we are having some trouble getting my son "on board." if he sees vegetables, then he will spit them out or lock his jaw so we can't get them in there. so, we have found that if we chop them up really tiny then he won't notice them. sometimes we forget to do this and we pay the consequences. i know it won't be like forever and someday it will become "the norm" for him and he won't even notice the veggies. i did find a great paleo banana bread recipe and he likes those a lot.
i do think that i have more energy and stamina eating this way that my old diet. i DEFINITELY can attest that i don't get as hungry as i used to eating the old way. sometimes i don't even feel the need to eat lunch and sometimes i am eating it only because it's "that time of day" and i somehow think i am supposed to be eating. i have resolved to try to only eat when i am hungry and add in one small snack even when i'm not hungry just to keep my food intake up a bit to help with breastfeeding.
i don't think i will get on a scale until at least november 1st. i am rather looking forward to that.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment